Veg boxes 

Who gets one?

A couple of years ago I had a standing order for a fruit & veg box and got one delivered every week. I enjoyed the variety but often found I either wasted food before I got the chance to use it or always seemed to have too much of stuff I didn’t necessarily want. I eventually stopped it when my father in law got an allotment. Along with his goodies and things grown in our own garden we didn’t need it.

Last year a new small business opened in Falkirk called Hogan’s Fine Food Company. They offer a home delivery of either a fruit, veg or mixed box for only £10!  You can’t get better value than that. The produce is fresh, local and often organic. Although I am quite happy for them to choose and put a box together for me, it is really easy to send them a Facebook message with what I would like and any special requests. What’s more as it’s not a standing order I only get one when I need one. As I work full time this is perfect for me as it’s ready and waiting in a safe place when I get home and I can easily pay by bank transfer. It forces me to plan my meals, try new veggies and discover new recipes. If you have never tried one before I would recommend you find a supplier close to you and give it a try.

Today’s new veg was pak choi, I’ve never tried it before let alone cooked it. We had a yummy Slimming World friendly, syn free veg stirfry.



Last night I also made syn free veg pakora to go with our home made curry, they went down a storm with a cucumber and mint yoghurt dip.



To make these I boiled 1 sweet potato and mashed it on it’s own. In a big bowl I mixed the mashed potato with a finely sliced onion, frozen peas, coriander, 2 tsp of curry powder, 2 tbsp fat free natural yoghurt and half a beaten egg. I shaped them into patties and cooked for approx 40 mins @ 200C, with frylight sprayed on the baking tray. If the mixture is too soft or runny, add more veg of your choice, use whatever you want.

This weeks meal plan is:

Monday – Veg stirfry

Tuesday – leftovers

Wednesday – Soup of a kind?

Thursday – Macaroni mince

Friday – takeaway

Saturday – Chicken crown roast dinner

Sunday – Steak pie

I hope everyone has a good week, I’m off to read all your meal plans x

4 thoughts on “Veg boxes 

Leave a Reply

