Favourite dessert??

So last week was Children in Need and as a result a bake off ensued at work. The calibre of cakes was fantastic. I’m no baker, in fact I don’t enjoy cake making nearly as much as I do making a meal and experimenting with new ingredients. However I do make a mean pavlova, even if I do say so myself. It’s a family recipe and so easy to make. I like to make it for special occasions and decorate it accordingly. A pudsey one was called for!

IMG_6068.JPG
To make it pre heat the oven to 230.
Whisk 5 egg whites until stiff, add 10oz of caster sugar slowly and beat until soft peaks are formed. Beat in 2 tsp corn flour, 1tsp of vinegar and 1/2 tsp of vanilla essence. Cut a circle of tin foil to fit a plate and spread the meringue mixture evenly on it. Place in oven and immediately reduce the heat to 120. Cook for 1 hour. Leave to cool and decorate with whipped cream and fruit/topping of your choice.

What is your go to dessert?

Last week’s meal plan went a bit array as I failed to plan in advance so this week I’ve already made my veggie lasagne and frozen the leftover filling to have as either a pasta sauce or ratatouille at a later date. I’ve also made the chilli too.

This week’s plan is:

Monday – Chicken Kievs
Tuesday – Chilli com carne
Wednesday – Veggie lasagne
Thursday – Spanish Omelette
Friday – Chilli & prawn linguini
Saturday – Eating Out
Sunday – Chicken, bacon & mushroom pie

As usual I will be joining in with Mrs M’s meal planning Monday. I hope you all have a fab week x

3 thoughts on “Favourite dessert??

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year | Whit a blether!

Leave a Reply

