Weird & wonderful veg

Hello everyone! I hope it’s been a half decent Monday.

Last week my father in law gave me some potatoes from his allotment, as you can see they were out of the ordinary! No idea what kind they were but they were damn tasty and the kids loved the novelty factor.

IMG_6032.JPG
This inspired me to ask for some weird and wonderful veg in my fruit and veg box this week. We got kale, a romanesco cauliflower and a spaghetti squash. We had the romanesco with a hearty chicken and bacon pie I made on Saturday night for my parents, slightly off last week’s meal plan but delicious all the same.

Tonight we had a squash and chickpea curry which I prepared yesterday and it was really tasty so I’m going to share the recipe. I just kind of made it up as I went along by googling a few recipes and adapting them to fit. So here’s my version, you could really add whatever you wanted.

IMG_6041.JPG
1 squash of any description peeled and cubed
1 tin chickpeas
1 tin chopped tomatoes
1 large onion
3-4 cloves garlic
Decent piece of fresh ginger
1 red chilli, finely chopped, seeds in
2 tsp coriander seeds, crushed
2 tsp cumin seeds, crushed
2 tsp garam masala
Large handful coriander leaves chopped
Salt & pepper
500ml veg stock
Fry onion, garlic, ginger and chilli. Crush spices and add to pan, stir well for a couple of minutes. Add squash, chickpeas, tomatoes and stock. Season and simmer for 30-40 mins. Stir in coriander before serving or scatter on top if you prefer.

This weeks meal plan is:

Monday – Squash & chickpea curry
Tuesday – Mac n cheese
Wednesday – leftovers
Thursday – Veggie lasagne
Friday – Children in need dinner @ work for volunteering to man the phone lines
Saturday – Jamie O’s Parmesan chicken from the Ministry of Food book
Sunday – Turkey joint (still in the freezer from last week!)

My question this week is what is your favourite veg and recipe? P.S. Does
Anyone have a nice recipe using kale?

Linking up with Mrs M @ Meal Planning Monday’s x

3 thoughts on “Weird & wonderful veg

  1. Those purple potatoes look like fun :p I came across romanesco cauliflower recently too – what a bizarre looking thing! Tasty though. Not sure for kale recipes…they seem to be a key ingredient in these ‘green juices’, you know like energy boost/breakfast alternatives? Fave veg recipe…moussaka! I can’t choose a fave veg on its own…Xx

Leave a Reply

