Where I shop

In the last 5 weeks I have discovered a new business local to me called Hogan’s Fine Food Company. They are a greengrocers and sell lots of lovely fresh produce. They don’t have a website up and running yet but you can find them on Facebook.

For £10 they will deliver a mixed fruit and veg box, which is full of yummy organic goodies. Some weeks I just get a fruit one to top up and delivery is no extra cost. Because I work full time it is really convenient for me and if I’m not home, they just leave it on my doorstep.

I try to stock up on meat etc at the start of the month, mostly from a local butchers, Boghall Butchers. I freeze it, then plan my meals around what I have.

Everything else I buy in Aldi which has saved us a small fortune compared to what our weekly shop used to cost in Sainsburys.

Last week Hogan’s had some offers on Puddledub Pork sausages and bacon. I ordered some and made my first ever toad in the hole tonight using a BBC Good Food recipe. It was lovely even if a bit crispy. We had it with potatoes and cabbage from Hogan’s too.>

20140407-193131.jpg

Leave a Reply

